Why Did I Start Blogging? Confession.

September 6, 2008

Can you learn swimming without getting you feet wet? Can you learn skating without falling on ice over and over again? In the same way you cannot learn writing without actual writing.

Since my early days in school writing has never been my strongest skill. Math always was. But writing was not. My essays were written poorly. It took me very long time to write just a couple of words on the paper. I admit that I always hated writing. When I was accepted to university I was happy that I only needed to pass two exams – science and math. I was happy that I did not need to write an essay, since that would definitely fail me. At that point I was also happy and relieved and thought that I would not need to write ever again. And if anybody said that I will write and I will write in English I would just laugh.

But things change. I am back in school. This time I am working towards my MBA. This is something different from what I did before. All my previous studies were around engineering and science. There I only needed to speak using the language of formulas. And now I found myself in a position that I must write a lot. I need to write research papers, reports, cases, you name it. And I must be able to write well if I want good marks and I want to be able to compete. And I have to write in English and I will need to compete with all those people for whom English is there first language.

And my biggest surprise was that now I want to write and I want to write well. I want not to be scared of the blank sheet of paper. I want to be able to write without thinking what the next word should be.

I must confess. I started blogging in order to learn how to write better, to learn how to tell compelling stories. I did not start this blog to make living of writing. There are way too many people that do that professionally, do that much better than I can. Although I live in Canada, English is not my first language. I guess, you have already noticed that. I hope that writing will improve my English.

I wanted to share my thought and ideas. And blog provides a great media to rich other people.

I also started blogging because I wanted to learn more about blogging. Being a software developer I was always interested in new technologies and trends in software industry. And the best way to learn about it is to try it. I know that I should’ve started blogging earlier.  But due to procrastination I did not do anything about it more than just a reading.

But enough is enough and it is better late than never. So here I am and here is my blog. I realize that my writing is far from perfect. But I’m constantly working on it and I will happily accept any your comments and constructive criticism.

5 Responses to “Why Did I Start Blogging? Confession.”

  1. not_a_blogger Says:

    Hello nonstopstudent,

    I understand your concern. I have the same problem. English is not my first language either. I try to improve it using different ways. One of these ways as you said is to practice writing because “practice makes perfect”. Yes, I agree with this statement but I think there are different types of “practice”.
    The type of practice you chose – blog writing – might be effective to some extend. However you have to accept the downsides of this type of practice. First of all, nobody will spend time correcting your mistakes. Second, a lot of people who respond might have problems with English also. They might not notice your mistakes. Third, many people, whose first language is English, have grammar and vocabulary problems.

    Another way to improve English, especially vocabulary, is a reading and the reading of good fiction. You cannot expand your vocabulary a lot by reading professional books only. The vocabulary in professional books is more limited then in fiction because the professional books are usually about something very specific. It can work only if you have really wide interests and go very deep in whatever you read about. The downside of this way of improving English is the time. Reading takes a lot of time. Even if you like it sometimes you cannot afford it.

    In my opinion the quickest way to improve English is speaking, speaking and speaking. Speaking frequently with highly educated, intelligent people, whose first language is English, is the most effective way of improving English. Children can help greatly because their way of speaking is intuitive.

    Although very often speaking abilities of the people you communicate with in real life might be even lower that yours. In addition, not a lot of people are concerned about how they speak or write the way you are concerned about it. I think it is natural not be concerned to some extend. I am not saying you do not have to worry about it. You have to try combining this kind of learning with some fun for yourself, with something you like then it would be much more productive.

    The last thing I would like to mention is a listening. If you listen carefully what people say and how they talk your language can be improved. You can learn standard phrases, idioms, etc. that people use.

    Those are my thoughts. I might be wrong, I might be right just because every person is different. What can work for one would not be helpful for others.

    Any thoughts on this?

  2. nonstopstudent Says:

    @not_a_blogger
    Thanks for your comments. I agree with you that what works for one person might not work for another.

    I also agree with you that reading fiction can help a lot, but you still need to practice writing in order to improve it. It is just as you cannot improve your skills in something if you only watch other doing that and don’t practice yourself.


  3. A person essentially assist to make critically posts I might
    state. That is the very first time I frequented your web page and thus far?
    I amazed with the research you made to make this particular submit extraordinary.

    Great process!

  4. Phillip Says:

    Thanks for the marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed reading it,
    you might be a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and will often come back later on.
    I want to encourage continue your great posts, have a nice weekend!

  5. nonstopstudent Says:

    Thank you all for your encouraging replies.
    I have not written for a while and when I received those great words of support, I realized how much I missed it.


Leave a Reply

